Microsoft Copilot Studio Cost per 1,000 Messages
AI Costs & Pricing

Microsoft Copilot Studio Cost per 1,000 Messages

By Paige Gilmore, Founder, NetLift· Published July 28, 2026· Updated October 9, 2026
Prices checked October 23, 2026 against official vendor pages

Microsoft Copilot Studio is priced at $200 per month for tenant-wide credit packs, which cover message usage across the organization. While a specific cost for exactly 1,000 messages is not publicly stated, organizations can save up to 20% by purchasing credit commit units upfront.

14-day free trial. No credit card required.

The entry price for Microsoft Copilot Studio is $200 per month for a pre-purchase plan. Instead of a flat per-message rate, Microsoft uses "Copilot Credit packs" that are shared across the entire tenant. This model allows for centralized billing and can be optimized by purchasing commit units upfront for a discount of up to 20%.

For organizations with variable workloads, a pay-as-you-go option is available, though it requires an active Azure subscription and a custom quote from sales. Additionally, if you already have Microsoft 365 Copilot licenses, usage for agents published within that ecosystem is included at no extra cost.

Verified pricing (official source)

Plan / rate Verified price Unit Notes
Microsoft Copilot Studio — Pre-purchase plan $200 per month Sold as tenant-wide packs. Azure subscription required. Save up to 20% with up-front purchase of Copilot Credi
Microsoft Copilot Studio — Pay-as-you-go Not stated on page usage based Pay only for what you use with consumption-based pricing. Requires an active Azure subscription. No upfront co
Microsoft Copilot Studio — Microsoft 365 Copilot Not stated on page other For those licensed for Microsoft 365 Copilot, usage of agents published to Microsoft 365 Copilot is included i

Every price above was retrieved from the official vendor page. Plans without a published number are shown exactly as the vendor states them — never estimated.

14-day free trial. No credit card required.

How do Copilot Credits affect the cost per message?

Because Microsoft bills based on tenant-wide credit packs rather than individual messages, the effective cost per 1,000 messages depends on the complexity and volume of the interactions. Finance teams should note that these $200 packs are the standard unit of scale for the pre-purchase plan.

When is pay-as-you-go a better option for IT?

The pay-as-you-go model is usage-based and billed at the end of the month. This requires an active Azure subscription and custom pricing through sales. It is often preferred by IT departments that want to avoid over-provisioning credits before they have a clear baseline of actual message volume.

To determine if a $200 monthly credit pack is generating value, you must measure the labor time recovered by automating specific workflows. NetLift allows you to track the cost of these credits against the human-hour equivalent of the tasks performed. This ensures that AI spend is a calculated investment in efficiency rather than an unmonitored line item.

14-day free trial. No credit card required.

Sources

All pricing on this page comes from official vendor pages:

Frequently Asked Questions

Ready to see your AI return?

14-day free trial. No credit card required.

About the author

Paige Gilmore · Founder, NetLift

Paige Gilmore is the founder of NetLift, the AI Value Management platform that helps organisations measure the cost, savings and return of AI adoption.

Paige Gilmore on LinkedIn

Keep reading