Snowflake Cortex AI Pricing & ROI Guide | NetLift

Snowflake Cortex AI Pricing, Cost and Break-Even Value

By Paige Gilmore, Founder, NetLift · Published 2026-08-07 · Updated 2026-08-24

Prices checked 2026-08-31 against official vendor pricing pages.

Snowflake Cortex AI uses consumption-based pricing starting at $2 per credit on the Standard plan, reaching $4 per credit for Business Critical environments. Additional on-demand storage is billed at $23 per TB per month.

Snowflake Cortex AI operates on a consumption-based model where costs are dictated by your selected service tier and actual usage. For organizations on AWS US East (Northern Virginia), rates range from $2 to $4 per credit depending on whether you require Standard, Enterprise, or Business Critical features.

This model shifts the financial focus from fixed licensing to operational expenditure. Because storage is billed separately from compute credits at a base rate of $23 per TB per month, your total cost of ownership will scale directly with the volume of data processed and the complexity of the AI workloads deployed.

Verified pricing (official source)

Plan / rate Verified price Unit Notes
Snowflake — Standard Edition Not stated on page usage based Entry-level offering. Consumption-based pricing depends on platform and region selection (not specified in tex
Snowflake — Enterprise Edition Custom — contact sales usage based Most popular edition for high-growth, large-scale customers. Consumption-based pricing depends on platform and
Snowflake — Business Critical Edition Not stated on page usage based Designed for highly regulated industries. Consumption-based pricing depends on platform and region selection.
Snowflake — Virtual Private Snowflake (VPS) Custom — contact sales usage based Talk to Sales for pricing.
Snowflake — Optimized Storage (On-Demand) Not stated on page usage based Pay for usage month-to-month. Price varies by platform and region.
Snowflake — Optimized Storage (Pre-paid Capacity) Not stated on page usage based Pre-paid capacity option. Capacity storage discounts may apply (refer to Table 3(a) in the Snowflake Service C

Every price above was retrieved from the official vendor page. Plans without a published number are shown exactly as the vendor states them — never estimated.

How do service tiers impact AI costs?

Choosing a service tier is the primary lever for controlling your credit burn rate. The Enterprise tier ($3 per credit) and Business Critical tier ($4 per credit) offer higher levels of governance and security than the Standard tier ($2 per credit). Finance leaders should evaluate if the increased cost per credit is justified by the specific compliance or data protection requirements of their AI initiatives.

What are the storage considerations for AI workloads?

While compute credits drive the execution of AI models, the data used for training or retrieval-augmented generation (RAG) incurs storage costs. On-demand storage is priced at $23 per TB per month. Organizations with massive datasets should account for this monthly overhead when calculating the break-even point for new AI applications.

To determine if your Snowflake Cortex AI spend is generating a net return, you must measure the delta between current AI-assisted workflows and your previous manual baselines. NetLift helps you quantify this by capturing time saved across engineering and data science teams and comparing it against actual credit consumption. This allows finance teams to verify if the $2 to $4 per-credit cost is being offset by measurable gains in operational speed and output quality.

Sources

All pricing on this page comes from official vendor pages:

Frequently asked questions

What is the lowest price for a Snowflake credit?

The lowest price is $2 per credit, which is available on the Standard plan for AWS US East (Northern Virginia).

How much does Snowflake charge for on-demand storage?

On-demand storage is priced at $23 per TB per month for AWS US East (Northern Virginia).

What is the cost for Virtual Private Snowflake (VPS)?

Pricing for Virtual Private Snowflake is custom. You must contact sales for a quote.

Does the Business Critical plan cost more than the Enterprise plan?

Yes. The Business Critical plan costs $4 per credit, while the Enterprise plan costs $3 per credit.

About the author

Paige Gilmore is the founder of NetLift, the AI Value Management platform that helps organisations measure the cost, savings and return of AI adoption.

Related resources

Start a free NetLift trial · See a sample report · All resources